Gold!!!

Our trip to Amazonia was fascinating and meaningful. A reward for voluntary work and motivation for everything that is yet to come. Unfortunately, it wasn’t all natural wonders, such as tiny poison dart frogs and 50-meter-high jungle giants.

The images of destroyed forest remain in my mind. From the airplane, just like on the ground. Unmissable and haunting, like a car accident. While monocultures at least still retain a conciliatory semblance of “green” to the eye, the greed for gold is only reminiscent of lunar landscapes. What remains are holes in the otherwise dense forest, ponds covered with oil films and rivers contaminated by mercury. Anger quickly sets in. But to whom? To those who strive for what many of us have already achieved or were born into? To the Western world, which is asking for gold, or to heads of state who would be better off without it?

Not to forget: Corona! The pandemic, which initially had a positive effect on nature, or so it seemed. Dolphins suddenly strayed into the Venice lagoon again and CO2 emissions fell drastically worldwide. But in Amazonia, on the other hand, the all-important ecotourists stayed away. The price of gold more than doubled and with it the number of gold seekers. Wild West, so to speak. Only this time in South America.

Not to forget: Corona! The pandemic, which initially had a positive effect on nature, or so it seemed. Dolphins suddenly strayed into the Venice lagoon again and CO2 emissions fell drastically worldwide. But in Amazonia, on the other hand, the all-important ecotourists stayed away. The price of gold more than doubled and with it the number of gold seekers. Wild West, so to speak. Only this time in South America.

Intermittent rays of hope: in 2019, the Peruvian state had the largest illegal gold mining site “La Pampa” cleared by 1,200 police officers, 300 soldiers and 70 public prosecutors. The long-term value of this campaign remains questionable. Although gold prospectors have been driven out of the region, new devastation was quickly detected near the Pariamanu River using modern satellite technology.

Intermittent rays of hope: in 2019, the Peruvian state had the largest illegal gold mining site “La Pampa” cleared by 1,200 police officers, 300 soldiers and 70 public prosecutors. The long-term value of this campaign remains questionable. Although gold prospectors have been driven out of the region, new devastation was quickly detected near the Pariamanu River using modern satellite technology.

No time for resignation! Protected areas, ecotourism and the associated work for locals are creating a rethink. The same piece of forest thus provides families with a recurring income, protects them from illegality and makes them the guardians of what we devoutly admire.

So don’t be magpies, give up gold, plant trees with us and protect the unique Amazon rainforest at the same time. True to the motto:

“Preserve existing forests, create new forests!”

Leave a Reply

Gold!!!

Unsere Reise nach Amazonien war faszinierend, wie Sinn stiftend. Eine Belohnung für ehrenamtliches Engagement und Motivation für Alles, was noch kommen mag. Leider waren es nicht ausschließlich Naturwunder, wie winzig, kleine Pfeilgiftfrösche und 50 Meter hohe Urwaldriesen.

Im Kopf blieben die Bilder von zerstörtem Wald. Aus dem Flugzeug, wie auf dem Boden. Unübersehbar und eindringlich, wie ein Autounfall. Während Monokulturen wenigstens noch einen fürs Auge versöhnlichen Schein von „grün“ waren, vermag die Gier nach Gold nur an Mondlandschaften zu erinnern. Übrig bleiben Löcher im sonst so dichten Wald mit Ölfilmen belegten Tümpeln, und durch Quecksilber verseuchte Flüsse. Schnell stellt sich Wut ein. Aber auf wen? Auf die, die nach dem streben, was viele von uns bereits erreicht haben bzw. in das wir geboren wurden? Auf die westliche Welt, die nach Gold fragt oder doch auf Staatsoberhäupter, die besser keine wären?

Nicht zu vergessen: Corona! Die Pandemie, welche anfänglich noch einen positiven Effekt auf die Natur hatte, so schien es zumindest. Es verirrten sich plötzlich wieder Delfine in die Lagune von Venedig und CO2-Ausstöße gingen global drastisch nach unten. Doch in Amazonien hingegen blieben die so wichtigen Ökotouristen aus. Der Goldpreis stieg auf über das Doppelte und mit ihm die Zahl der Goldsucher. Wild West quasi. Nur diesmal in Südamerika.

Nicht zu vergessen: Corona! Die Pandemie, welche anfänglich noch einen positiven Effekt auf die Natur hatte, so schien es zumindest. Es verirrten sich plötzlich wieder Delfine in die Lagune von Venedig und CO2-Ausstöße gingen global drastisch nach unten. Doch in Amazonien hingegen blieben die so wichtigen Ökotouristen aus. Der Goldpreis stieg auf über das Doppelte und mit ihm die Zahl der Goldsucher. Wild West quasi. Nur diesmal in Südamerika.

Zwischendurch Lichtblicke: Der peruanische Staat lässt 2019 die größte illegale Goldgräberstätte „La Pampa“ durch 1200 Polizisten, 300 Soldaten und 70 Staatsanwälte räumen. Welchen langfristigen Wert diese Aktion hat, bleibt fraglich. Zwar hat man die Goldsucher aus der Region verdrängt, doch ließen sich in der Nähe des Pariamanu-Flusses schnell neue Verwüstungen durch moderne Satellitentechnologie feststellen.

Zwischendurch Lichtblicke: Der peruanische Staat lässt 2019 die größte illegale Goldgräberstätte „La Pampa“ durch 1200 Polizisten, 300 Soldaten und 70 Staatsanwälte räumen. Welchen langfristigen Wert diese Aktion hat, bleibt fraglich. Zwar hat man die Goldsucher aus der Region verdrängt, doch ließen sich in der Nähe des Pariamanu-Flusses schnell neue Verwüstungen durch moderne Satellitentechnologie feststellen.

Keine Zeit für Resignation! Schutzgebiete, Ökotourismus und damit verbundene Arbeit für Einheimische, schaffen ein Umdenken. Dasselbe Stück Wald bringt den Familien so wiederkehrend ein Einkommen, schützt sie vor Illegalität und macht sie zu Hütern dessen, was wir andachtsvoll bestaunen.

Also seid keine Elstern, verzichtet auf Gold, pflanzt mit uns Bäume und schützt gleichzeitig einzigartigen Amazonas-Regenwald. Ganz dem Motto folgend:

„Bestehende Wälder erhalten, neue Wälder erschaffen!“

Schreibe einen Kommentar